Two California Anti-Gun Bills Up for Consideration


California Assembly Bill 962 and Senate Bill 585 are scheduled to be considered on Thursday, May 28.

AB962, sponsored by Assembly Member Kevin De Leon (D-45), is in the Assembly Committee on Appropriations.  AB962 would make it a crime to privately transfer more than 50 rounds of ammunition per month, even between family and friends, unless you are registered as a “handgun ammunition vendor” in the Department of Justice's database.  Ammunition retailers would have to be licensed and store ammunition in such a manner that it would be inaccessible to purchasers.  The bill would also require purchasers submit to fingerprinting, which would be submitted to the Department of Justice.  Lastly, mail order ammunition sales would be prohibited.

SB585 is currently in the Senate Appropriations Committee.  Introduced by State Senator Mark Leno (D-3), SB585 would prohibit the sale of firearms and ammunition on the property or inside the buildings that comprise the Cow Palace.  In short, SB585 is a stepping-stone to banning gun shows on all publicly-owned property in California.

Please contact the members of the Assembly and Senate Appropriations Committees and respectfully urge them to oppose AB962 and SB585.  Contact information for the committees can be found below.


Assemblymember Kevin de Leon (D-45) – Chair
(916) 319-2045

Assemblymember Jim Nielsen (R-2) – Vice Chair
(916) 319-2002

Assemblymember Tom Ammiano (D-13)
(916) 319-2013

Assemblymember Charles M. Calderon (D-58)
(916) 319-2058

Assemblymember Mike Davis (D-48)
(916) 319-2048

Assemblymember Michael D. Duvall (R-72)
(916) 319-2072

Assemblymember Felipe Fuentes (D-39)
(916) 319-2039

Assemblymember Isadore Hall, III (D-52)
(916) 319-2052

Assemblymember Diane L. Harkey (R-73)
(916) 319-2073

Assemblymember Dave Jones (D-9)
(916) 319-2009

Assemblymember Jeff Miller (R-71)
(916) 319-2071

Assemblymember John A. Pérez (D-46)
(916) 319-2046

Assemblymember Curren D. Price, Jr. (D-51)
(916) 319-2051

Assemblymember Nancy Skinner (D-14)
(916) 319-2014

Assemblymember Jose Solorio (D-69)
(916) 319-2069

Assemblymember Audra Strickland (R-37)

(916) 319-2037

Assemblymember Tom Torlakson (D-11)

(916) 319-2011


State Senator Christine Kehoe (D-39), Chair
(916) 651-4039

State Senator Dave Cox (R-1), Vice-Chair
(916) 651-4001

State Senator Ellen Corbett (D-10)
(916) 651-4010

State Senator Jeff Denham (R-12)
(916) 651-4012

State Senator Mark DeSaulnier (D-7)
(916) 651-4007

State Senator Loni Hancock (D-9)
(916) 651-4009

State Senator Mark Leno (D-3)
(916) 651-4003

State Senator Jenny Oropeza (D-28)
(916) 651-4028

State Senator George Runner (R-17)
(916) 651-4017

State Senator Mimi Walters (R-33)
(916) 651-4033

State Senator Lois Wolk (D-5)
(916) 651-4005

State Senator Mark Wyland (R-38)
(916) 651-4038

State Senator Leland Yee (D-8)
(916) 651-4008

This information has been provided by the California Rifle and Pistol Association.

Source: CCRKBA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.